Material Mama #11


click above to play

Welcome Friends!

Click to listen

I’m so glad you took the time to check out the website. I try to get all the links up but sometimes will miss one or four. If you want a link to a specific item I talked about, and you don’t see it here, let me know by emailing me at materialmama at gmail dot com. Thanks so much!

Today I featured the following music, and a story.

Christmas In The Sun Joel Kopischke

Little by Little Jan Linder-Koda and Justin Gordon

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus

I put the whole first chapter on the podcast, and if you’d like the rest, please visit the link above. You can download the whole story there for free! What a great service.

Our Diaper Sewing Website is going really well! Check it out!

You can find more free mama patterns at FitzPatterns.

Fun toys for your children at Hearthsong and Nova Naturals

What I’m reading: Craft Magazine Use your 50% off coupon at JoAnn’s, or check out their website. Very cool.

What I’m listening to as I sew (and do carpool!): Creative Mom, Cast On, Chubb Creek. Lime and Violet

The Bone Setter’s Daughter (I downloaded it and listen to it in the car with my oldest daughter.)

What I’m sewing:

Two Christmas dresses. I ADORE this Butterick 3316 pattern. It has a curved bodice and is super simple to put together. I removed the little loopie thing in the back (where a button would go) so it’s a pull over dress. Cotton Velour bodice and sleeves, interlock knit skirt.

and the dress I made:

Robe- flannel backed satin for my 15 year old daughter. She’s been asking me to make her one, and I think she’ll like the flannel, I know I do. Ottobre 04-05, the women’s size small

Quilt for Mr. Big’s grandmother. She is sick and a lap quilt is something I think she’ll find useful and comforting.

Training pants for m. She is almost all done, but I think I’ll make some for the sew along at Cloth Diaper Sewing, and for long trips, just in case. I’ll be making her underpants as well, I like the Ottobre boxer pattern. I altered it so it’s two pieces instead of four. I’m lazy like that.

Thank you for all of the nice emails about Misty. Here’s a picture of the both of us the day we got her (March 1988):

She saw me through the 80’s, the 90’s, the new century, two marriage, three children, four houses and two other dogs.

On to brighter news, I wanted to take some time to talk about podcasting. We need more crafty podcasts! I can literally count them on one hand. Podcasting is the great equalizer, there is no FCC and it passes all borders. If you do a search on iTunes you’ll find many great ‘how to’ podcasts. I recommend Podcasting for Dummies and The Daily Source Code.

Looking for some great gift ideas? Check these sellers out at Hyena Cart:

Sewing Mamas

beckyspapercreations

phoenix_flats

MonkeyStars

Melinda’s Lotions & Potions

llamajama

theplaygroundshops

feast

NaturalHomePresents

huckleberry knits

madebymaria

PoshBug

Bear Bottom Britches

fiarellacreations

Want some last minute ideas for things to make? Check these out:

Potholders

Green Pepper # 504 Fleece Socks

Gaters/babylegs/legwarmers

Wee Wonderfuls Kitty, paperdolls and more

Dollheads

Craftgrrl cheap screenprinting

Salt Dough Art

Echoes of a Dream blog – Waldorf crafts

Craftster Tutorial Page

Don’t forget to check out my new Material Mama Bookstore

Thanks so much for listening!

~nutmeg

Leave a Reply

