ICU nurses are truly angels here on earth ie the podcast is delayed

My podcast will be delayed.

We have had a tough few weeks. My husband’s grandmother passed away the same day my little one was admitted to the ICU for headaches.

My youngest daughter (3) was complaining of headaches. She got to where she would cry for three hours, and sleep for one. She couldn’t move her neck and was always in pain. She always had a fever. I took her to urgent care, our family pediatrician, then back again a few days later.  Someone finally listened and admitted us to Sutter Hospital here in Sacramento.

She went to the PICU (Pediatric Intensive Care Unit) for four days. I have to say, those nurses and doctors are angels here on earth. They were kind, attentive, thoughtful and helpful during the most stressful, difficult time of my life.

The CT scan and the MRI was clear on her problem. Turns out she had a couple of abscesses in the sinus areas in the back of her head. They were infected and impacted, really ugly.

Sunday morning was so bad I didn’t see how she could make it through, and Sunday night she’s asked for pizza. We were blessed to have a CCI dog visit her and it really turned the corner for her. She went from almost totally non responsive to sitting up and talking. She even laughed and I thought I would melt.

We got home on Tuesday, April 24th and she’s one happy little girl. Not 100% but pretty darn close.

So my podcast will be delayed while I gather my wits together and figure out how to think about sewing again. I did knit while sitting in the ICU, a whole blanket. I couldn’t really do anything else.

We also have family business to attend to, Nana’s funeral and helping however we can. So I am really sorry, I do have number 19 planned but I’m not sure when I’ll get the time this week.

Back soon!

Nutmeg

6 thoughts on “ICU nurses are truly angels here on earth ie the podcast is delayed

  1. Oh my goodness, I can’t express my joy on her recovery and my sadness for your loss in words. Lots of hugs, and prayers for you. Please take care of yourself and your family and don’t worry about us!

  2. Kim says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. As a mommy, I can only imagine what you must have been going through. I will pray for your family. Best wishes.

  3. Wow….you have had quite a time! I’m so sorry. As a parent, I know just how scary those times can be. And especially with a little one.

    My deepest sympathy to you and your family on the passing of your husband’s grandmother.

    Take care!

  4. Lisa says:

    Dear Meg…..please take it easy and remember to boost your immune system; especially if you guys are flying. With all the stress you’ve been through…you’re a prime candidate for a nasty bug.

    I’m sure #19 will be worth the wait. The anticipation will make it all the sweeter 🙂 Looking forward to things settling back down for you guys!! Much love…..Lisa

  5. I’m so glad that everyone is healthy again.
    I saw the pic of the mushroom cookie jars, OMG! My mom had those in our kitchen when I was little!
    Keep it up, your podcast is very helpful!

Leave a Reply

