material mama podcast #24

Welcome friends!

There are many ways to listen to my podcast about sewing.

Click here to listen to the podcast directly:

Or you can use the direct link to all podcasts or right click this link to save to your computer to listen to later, or to put on your mp3 player.

Direct Subscribe Link for Mac’s, click here Material Mama Podcast

If you go to iTunes, and you can’t find my podcast, do this. In iTunes on your computer, click on Advanced menu. Select “Subscribe to Podcast”, and paste this into the dialog box: sewingmama.libsyn.com/rss

Leave me a voicemail question or comment by telephone: 1-775-593-5136

Show 24 Notes

Measuring standards

ASG Conference here in Sacramento! I hope to see you, be sure to say hello!

New dress pattern, with many easy adjustments to custom fit

Click for a free printable to put by your machine:

nutmegsayssmall1.gif

Change your bobbin, change your needle — some little products I made up, when you purchase them you help support the show!

Great dye tutorial videos are up I have one from Sewing With Nancy on how to change the sizing of knit patterns, but I can’t get it from .tivo to a format YouTube will take.

Fabric magnet buttons, I got the idea from NotMartha:

and some button push pins:

New patterns are up from Kwik Sew! Also the new Ottobre has been posted! I love these times of year. I am planning on ordering these patterns:


3542 Tunic and Dress


3536 Dress

Two-Hour Tote Bag by Be Sew Stylish

bag.jpg

Sew A Clean Sweep Apron!

Take a look at BurdaStyle, they’ve changed the interface a bit and new patterns are added all the time!

Kerri from Miss You Sew Much (http://www.missyousewmuch.com/ have offered a free zippered bag tutorial! Check it out!!!!!

zipbag.jpg

Special thanks to Sarah from Mad Mommy Blog (one of my favorites!) for leaving me this voicemail. Check out this awesome mommy patch site she found!

Listener Ginger asks:

Hi,

I have a couple of suggestions for topics. One of the things I had down was sewing for boys but I was thinking about my 8-year-old son. What can I practically sew for him that he would actually wear? I’m thinking in the 8 to 10 year range.

Another thing is sewing motivation. I have a hard time just getting up to do it. I have a jacket cut out now that I need to mark and sew but I have a difficult time.

Any advice sisters and brothers? Send me an email or give me a call! Thanks for listening and I’ll be back on the air in a week or two.

I want to thank everyone for their wonderful support! If you’d like to participate you can:

email me materialmama at gmail dot com
Got a phone? Leave me a voicemail question or comment 1-775-593-5136
Got a Mic? Record A Two-Minute Question or comment.

How can I help support this podcast?

Would you like to see more shows? I’d love to be able to afford the webspace. You can help support this show by taking a look at my sewing advocacy items. I also have a PayPal donation link here. Or you can shop my recommended books. Thank you so much!

I also have a list of online shops you can click through and I’ll get a small percentage:

Do you have links I can put on my blog or website?

Please use these, by putting them on your favorite picture storing site and link to: http://www.materialmama.com

Nutmeg

3 thoughts on “material mama podcast #24

  1. Hey Nutmeg, thanks so much for the link to my zippered pouch tutorial! For a few more days, we’re running a contest at http://www.missyousewmuch.com/ — anyone who makes a pouch using the tutorial (and sends photographic evidence!) is entered to win three fab quilting fat quarters.

    Thanks again, and thanks for another great podcast!

  2. Grumpy72 says:

    Just wanted to say thank you so much for your podcasts. I found your site back in May (I think) and went back and listened to all the old podcasts… and learned so much from you! I’ve since dug my sewing machine out of the closet and will be getting lessons on the serger that has been sitting in my closet, in the next week. I can’t wait. My dd(6 yrs) sits and listens with me always asks what I’m gonna sew next for her and her little sister (1.5 yrs)

Leave a Reply

